Skip to content

To the rich and powerful people who have just signed away most of my future,

December 17, 2011

Delaying a binding agreement on climate change until 2020 does not constitute success.

You have been negotiating this my entire life, and yet you want to wait another 8 years, before you commit to anything legally? We are running out of time. We only have around 5 years before our window to prevent dangerous climate change closes. I took Mathematics until year 12 at a New Zealand High School, so I can tell you with authority that these figures don’t make any sense.

The commitments we have from you leave us looking at around 4 degrees rise in global temperature. What does that mean for Africa? What does that mean for the Pacific? What does that mean for the rest of the world?  In a high security shiny floored, conference room to the muted patter of keyboards and glasses, you have just signed a death sentence for millions of people, and committed my generation to paying off your debts for the rest of our lives.

I can imagine you, in your suits and your expensive shoes, and your prestigious education sitting on the aeroplane home with some complementary champagne, as you email your wife happily complaining about the stress and lack of sleep that comes with important international negotiation. One must be realistic after all. Rome wasn’t built in a day and you are tired but satisfied in your clean successful white socks.

Perhaps this is a game to you. Another line to add to your CV.

Well it isn’t to me. This is my future. This is my whole world, literally. These are the lives of my friends. This is the legacy I will inherit.

I’ve been told me to wait, to be reasonable, to be realistic. Well I’ve tried. I’ve spent my entire life trusting that, behind the complicated wording, you do really know what you are talking about, and are trying to make the best decisions possible. I trusted that while it might take a little while, you would eventually make the right decisions, that you would listen to the people, and to the scientists, that justice, and compassion would fight their way through. But I guess I was just naïve.

You have failed. You have failed those in developing nations. You have failed my entire generation, and you have failed me. This is betrayal of the most hurtful and insulting kind, really, and to be quite frank, I want nothing more to do with you. I know that these issues are difficult, and complicated and multi-sided, but honestly, go fuck off and die already. You could have at least tried.

At the very least please have the decency not to tell us we are radical. It would have been very useful if you were cooperative, but you haven’t been, and if you continue to refuse to be reasonable, or realistic, then we will have to be. There is a lot more at stake here than your jobs, and so I guess we shall have to continue getting things done ourselves, with or without your help.

Hope is definitely not lost. No, don’t kid yourselves you ever had the ability to extinguish that, but I will no longer be expecting to find it amongst the corridors of power and money.

That’s about all I have to say for now.

I remain, (no longer) yours,

Chrissy

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

